What Is the Legal Tint for Louisiana

Louisiana`s dyeing laws state that manufacturers of car window tints must sell and install state-certified window tints or films. If you have obtained an exemption and have applied a darker shade to your vehicle, you are obliged to remove it in the event of a sale or transfer of the vehicle. But tint laws are different for rear seat windows and rear windshields of multi-purpose vehicles in Louisiana — there`s no limit to the darkness of the rear windshield or the tint of the rear glasses. It`s a good idea to ask your car tinted window dealer to make sure they`re using certified film. As with cars, the front side windows of vans, trucks, and SUVs in Louisiana can only be tinted up to 40 percent VLT darkness, but there`s a lot more wiggle room with rear windows. Larger vehicles may have rear side window obscurity, and the same goes for the rear windshield. This allows for complete privacy and is ideal for paint shops, for people who care about the privacy of their families, and simply because it allows for many customizations to the appearance of vehicles. However, this indulgence does not extend to reflectivity: no window of a Louisiana-registered vehicle can be more than 20% reflective. The state`s VLT rules are different for passenger cars from multipurpose vehicles – it`s best to know what the VLT rules are in Louisiana for your vehicle type. Car glass dealers in Louisiana can guarantee that they are using certified film by providing a sticker for your car window that marks the legal hue. As in most states, cars in Louisiana are subject to different window tint restrictions than larger vehicles like trucks, vans, and SUVs, so we`ll treat cars (sedans, coupes, and non-SUV sedans) separately.

And since each window of a car is also subject to different dyeing laws, we will also discuss this individually. Louisiana window tint laws allow a tint of up to 40% VLT on the front side windows and with a reflectivity not exceeding 20%. The rear side windows of a car can be tinted to 25% darkness, which offers plenty of privacy from unwanted glances from any distance from the car, but does not completely obscure the view. In Louisiana, the rear window of a car, i.e. the rear windshield, can be tinted to a very dark VLT of 12% or more. Here`s what`s allowed in the Louisiana Window Tinting Act: Car window tint is perhaps the best aftermarket upgrade you can do on a vehicle in Louisiana. The hue of the car in this warm and sunny southern state keeps your vehicle cooler and more comfortable, even on the hottest days, blocking the heat of the sun and reducing the harmful effects of UV light on the interior of the cabin, stopping fading, cracking and fading that can severely damage the appearance of the car and reduce the resale value. In most cases, the tint of car windows in Louisiana will be dampened several times by the value received. But with the cost of window tint violations rising rapidly in Louisiana, soon reaching $350 per violation, it`s not worth having illegal window tints in Louisiana, a state where window tint laws are quite complex and easy to misunderstand.

To know that tinting your windows is legal in Louisiana, it`s essential to understand the percentage of VLT, or the percentage of visible light transmission, which simply indicates the amount of visible light-tinted glass that will pass through. Contrary to what one might expect, small numbers mean a dark hue: the lower the VLT index, the less light penetrates and the more tinted the window is (e.g. dark). Thus, the 5% VLT hue, the dark intimacy hue commonly seen on sedans called sedan hue, is quite dark, while the 9% VLT hue is almost light. Note that even a very transparent window tint can block out 99% of the sun`s harmful UV light, reduce interior heat, and even reduce glare – don`t think you need a dark privacy tint to get the main benefits of window tint for vehicles. And if you want a darker car window shade in Louisiana, make sure you follow the rules. Window tint regulations were enacted in Louisiana in 1993 and have changed several times in the years since they were introduced, so it`s a good idea to check the latest rules from time to time to make sure your tint is still compliant and, of course, to make sure any new tint, that you are considering is legal. There are no rules for side mirrors if you have tinted windows in Louisiana, but it`s usually a good idea to make sure you have side mirrors that work properly if you reduce the clarity of vision through the rear windows in any way. While most window hue colors are allowed by Louisiana state law, regulations prohibit red and amber tones.

Manufacturers who sell and installers who work with auto window tint in Louisiana must confirm that the film they offer is licensed in the state, and you must have a sticker that identifies the tint of your vehicle`s glass as legal between the window film and the glass on the driver`s front window. There are no medical exceptions for darker window tint under Louisiana law, but the 40% shade allowed should be enough to relieve problems caused by the skin or eyes of people who are particularly sensitive to sunlight. But the state has other rules and regulations that you need to know before tinting your vehicle`s windows. Illegal window tinting in Louisiana is considered a civil offense, not a criminal issue, but the penalties can still be pretty harsh. A first offence will be dealt with with a $150 ticket. A second ticket for illegal window tinting in Louisiana will cost you $250. And a third violation will come with a $350 ticket, the price for all subsequent violations. At this speed, a few window-tinted tickets will cost you more than installing a legal window tint on your vehicle. Since officers can still use a portable device to check visible light transmission, don`t think you`ll get away with an illegal tint until it`s time to inspect: your illegal glass tint could become a problem at any time, even if you`re arrested for a completely different reason.

If you want to tone your car windows in Louisiana, you`re not alone. Not all blinds are created equal. There are hundreds of different manufacturers and tons of different films. There are good movies and bad movies. There are window installers who use bad films because they are cheaper to use. It is your responsibility to be vigilant and always talk to your tinted film manufacturer about the shading film they are using. In Louisiana, color film manufacturers must certify the films they sell. If you follow the specific VLT rules for your vehicle type or have obtained approval for a valid medical exemption from state color protection laws, you are doing the right thing and should have no problem with the authorities. The Ministry of Public Safety and Correctional Services issues a special sticker that, for medical reasons, must be clearly displayed on vehicles at all times to indicate tinted windows. A medical exemption affidavit must also always be carried in the vehicle. With tinted windows on the front seats, 40% of the light must be transmitted.

Louisiana`s hue laws include the degree of dark or reflection of the hue. The first professional car window tint was invented in 1966, and car window tint is more popular than ever. The tint of the rear windows must let 25% of the light through. The tint of the rear windshield must allow 12% of the light to pass through. Before you want your car`s windows tinted, you need to know the laws as well as other rules and regulations in your state. This article discusses window tinting laws in the state of Louisiana. Before you start calling other installers, here`s what you need to know: However, the state has more specific rules and regulations for tinting cars. Let`s take a look at some of them below. The tint of the front seat windows (driver and passenger side) must transmit 40% of the light. Windshield tint regulations in Louisiana are the same for all types of private vehicles, so cars, trucks, SUVs, and vans can use it as a reference: The law allows non-reflective tint of windows on the AS-1 line of the windshield, which is a strip of glass delimited by the manufacturer near the top of the windshield. If no AS-1 line is visible, use five inches as a reference.

The automotive window tinting industry is part of a nonprofit group called the International Window Film Association (IWFA), and many states, including Louisiana, have passed statewide dyeing laws. Car window tint is necessary for much of the south due to high temperatures that can overload a car`s air conditioning, discolor a car`s upholstery, and expose passengers to harmful UV rays. The Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services issues a special permit sticker for darker-tinted car windows to registered vehicle owners, spouses or family members with illnesses such as lupus, porphyria, albinism, melanoma or sun allergy. These medical conditions generally require the vehicle owner to have a darker shade on their car windows, as indicated on the special permit sticker. Any medical exemptions granted to Louisiana`s color protection laws are reviewed every few years. If you have a medical exemption from Louisiana`s dyeing laws and decide to sell the vehicle or transfer ownership, you will need to remove the darker tint from your car windows. The state of Louisiana required a label/sticker to identify legally tinted windows that include the name of the installer and the city where the business is located.